What is the tax year?
Throughout the State of New Hampshire, the tax year runs from April 1 through the following March 31. Assessments of your property are made as of value on April 1st of each tax year and appear on your tax bill.
How often and when will I be billed?
There are normally two bills per year. The first bill of the year is an estimate, usually based on one half of the previous year’s tax. This tax bill, printed and mailed out near the end of May, is due July 1st. The tax rate is set by the State of New Hampshire Department of Revenue in the fall of the year after which the final bill is printed. The final bill is calculated using the new rate multiplied by your property’s assessed value as of April 1st less any payments made on the first bill. Mailed in the middle to end of October, the final bill is usually due December 1st each year.
What if my taxes are escrowed by my mortgagee?
Your bank or mortgage company should instruct you as to whether or not you need to send them a copy of your tax bill. It is always best to verify that they have paid your bill each time.
What if I didn’t get a tax bill?
Bills are sent to the address of the last known owner by state law. The Tax Assessor’s Office updates its records according to the transfer recorded and received from the Coos County Registry of Deeds (http://nhdeeds.com/ ). Your attorney or closing company should have checked the status of taxes due. However, it is your responsibility as the owner to make sure they are paid and to advise us of your mailing address in writing. If you have questions about this, refer to your closing statement and/or give us a call. Interest at 12% per annum is charged on tax bills not paid by the due date. Also, interest at 18%
per annum is charged on tax liens until paid in full.
What about Sewer bills?
These payments are collected by the Tax Collector’s Office. Billed annually, sewer bills are usually sent out in the month of April. If you have questions regarding billings and/or usage, please call the Tax Collector at 752-6350. Unpaid sewer bills will become sewer tax liens.
Do you accept credit/debit card payments?
There is a 2.95% processing fee for credit cards with a minimum of $1.95 (example: $1,000 tax bill x 2.95% = $29.50 )