October 16, 2023

To our colleagues in Concord:

On October 26<sup>th</sup>, you will be asked to take up the question of whether or not to override Governor Sununu's veto of HB 142, relative to Burgess BioPower. **We strongly encourage you to vote in favor of overriding the veto** so that HB 142 can be enacted, and the future operation of Burgess BioPower can be secured.

Burgess BioPower was constructed in the heart of the City of Berlin following the devastating closure of the Fraser Paper Mill. In the 10 years Burgess has operated, the company has delivered on every commitment they've made to the community. **Burgess is an outstanding example of what a great corporate partner can do for a struggling city.** 

Burgess is vital to the financial health and continued growth of the City of Berlin. They contribute:

- 16% of the City's property taxes
- 40% of Berlin Water Works revenue (equivalent to their entire debt service payment)
- 20% of Berlin's annual sewer fees

Beyond the city limits of Berlin, Burgess is critical to the long-term health of New Hampshire's forests and the timber industry. They are the largest buyer of biomass in the state, and purchase material from 150+ towns across all 10 New Hampshire counties. Maintaining this market is essential, especially as the impacts of reduced harvesting in other areas, like Pittsburg, remain to be seen.

If you have questions or concerns about Burgess, contact us, or speak to their company officials. In our direct personal experience, we've known them to be forthright, honest, and helpful. Or better yet, come see the facility for yourself, and talk to us in person. See for yourself how important Burgess is.

At a time when we need collaboration and bipartisanship more than ever, we urge you to respect the years of cooperative work that went into crafting HB 142. **Shuttering Burgess would send a clear message that the folks in Concord are out of touch with the North Country.** Don't make that mistake.

Sincerely yours,

The Berlin City Council

Paul Grenier, Mayor Denise Morgan Roland Theberge Mark Eastman Diana Berthiaume Robert Theberge Peter Morency Brian Valerino Peter Higbee