Police Department

Mission Statement

The mission of the Berlin Police Department is to provide community-oriented law enforcement, designed to protect life, property and maintain order, while assuring fair and equal treatment for all and to continually enhance the training and expertise of each member of the police force.  

Berlin Police Department Overview

The Berlin Police Department is located in the heart of the “City That Trees Built.” Berlin was incorporated in 1829 and is the only city in Coös County.  Its first census in 1830 had a population of 73, and Berlin currently has the largest population in Coös County. The Androscoggin River runs directly through the center of the city and splits the west from the east side.

The Berlin Police Department has 21 sworn full-time officers, 17 part-time auxiliary/special enforcement officers, and ten civilian personnel. Sworn full-time officers consist of the chief, deputy chief, lieutenants, prosecutor, lead investigator, detectives, corporals, and patrol officers. Civilian personnel consist of the communications supervisor and full- and part-time communications specialists, the administrative assistant, detectives’/prosecutor’s secretary, and maintenance coordinator. There is a communications specialist on duty at all times.

The members of the Berlin Police Department strive “to protect and serve” the City’s residents on a daily basis, in order to maintain a safe community.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Peter Morency Chief of Police (603) 752-3131
Daniel Buteau Deputy Chief of Police (603) 752-3131
Kimberly Bijeau Administrative Assistant (603) 752-3131